Specification tables in this category are a mixture of meaningful figures, meaningless ones, and figures that would be meaningful if they came with a second number that is always missing. Learning to read one properly takes about fifteen minutes and it is the single most useful skill you can bring to this purchase.
This is a line-by-line walkthrough: twelve rows you will encounter, what each actually tells you, what a good entry looks like, and which ones to distrust. It ends with a worked example on one of our own products and a copy-and-paste list of questions to send a seller.
The short answer: what should you look for?
Wavelengths in nanometres, an emitter count with the unit stated, the emitting area, defined timer settings, a named charging standard, and a warranty covering the whole device. Treat any irradiance figure without a measurement distance as unusable, and treat LED count on its own as marketing.
Key takeaways
- Two figures are worth most: wavelengths in nanometres and emitting area. Almost everything else is secondary or unverifiable.
- Irradiance without a distance is meaningless. It is the most important number in principle and the most misreported in practice.
- Emitter counts are not comparable across brands unless you know whether packages or chips are being counted.
- Certifications are about safety and compliance, not effectiveness. They tell you the device is legal to sell, not that it does anything.
- Blanks in a table are a good sign, not a bad one. Uniform confidence across every row is the warning.
The twelve lines
1. Wavelengths
What it means: the bands of light emitted, in nanometres. Determines how far light travels into tissue.
Good: "660 nm red and 850 nm near-infrared", ideally with the split between them.
Distrust: "red and infrared", "full spectrum", "optimised wavelengths". Also note that "infrared" covers an enormous range — far infrared, used in heat lamps, is a different technology working by heat.
Weight: High. This is the most informative single row.
2. Emitter count — and the unit
What it means: how many light-emitting elements. One LED package can contain two or three emitting chips, so counts are not comparable unless the unit matches.
Good: "105 LEDs, 315 chips total (105 at 660 nm, 210 at 850 nm)".
Distrust: a large bare number, "lamp beads", "light beams" — all unstandardised.
Weight: Low on its own; moderate alongside area.
3. Emitting area or dimensions
What it means: the size of the panel that actually emits, as distinct from the size of the product.
Good: panel dimensions, or a clear coverage description ("face and neck", "back, waist, legs").
Distrust: total product dimensions where most of the length is strap.
Weight: High — it is what makes an emitter count interpretable.
4. Irradiance
What it means: light power arriving per square centimetre, in mW/cm². Multiplied by time it gives dose in J/cm², which is the unit research protocols use.
Good: a figure with the distance it was measured at and, ideally, who measured it.
Distrust: any figure without a distance. It is the equivalent of a speed with no unit.
Weight: Would be the highest of all, if it were reliably reported. It is not.
Where we stand: Vyalight does not publish irradiance figures, because our supplier documentation does not include independently measured values. We would rather leave the row out than publish a number we cannot stand behind. When you see a confident figure elsewhere, ask at what distance and by whom.
5. Power in watts
What it means: electrical draw, or occasionally total optical output. Usually the former.
Good: stated for mains devices, where it is genuinely informative about scale — our tripod lamp is 54 W.
Distrust: wattage presented as a proxy for how much light reaches your skin. It is not, because efficiency, beam spread and distance all intervene.
Weight: Low to moderate.
6. Timer settings
What it means: the session durations the device offers and whether it stops on its own.
Good: named durations — "5 / 15 / 30 / 45 minutes" — with automatic shut-off.
Distrust: an on switch with no stated stop. Given the biphasic dose relationship described in the research, an indefinite device is worse designed, not more generous.
Weight: High.
7. Modes
What it means: light modes, brightness levels, massage or frequency settings.
Good: modes described so you can tell what changes — "3 brightness levels (50%, 80%, 100%)" is useful; "5 light modes" less so unless the manual says what they are.
Distrust: mode counts as a headline feature. Seven modes is not seven times anything.
Weight: Moderate, mostly for comfort and control.
8. Power source
What it means: battery or mains.
Good: stated clearly, with battery capacity in mAh where known — our wrist wrap is 3000 mAh.
Distrust: "long battery life" with no figure, and cordless devices that cannot run while charging without saying so.
Weight: Moderate to high, because it determines convenience and therefore usage.
9. Charging connector
What it means: what you plug in.
Good: USB-C.
Distrust: proprietary barrel connectors and unnamed "DC adapters" — a spare part you will eventually need and struggle to source.
Weight: Low individually, high over a device's life.
10. Weight and materials
What it means: what it feels like to wear for the full session.
Good: a stated weight, and materials named for the contact surface — "breathable fabric", "silicone".
Distrust: "lightweight" and "premium materials", which mean nothing.
Weight: High for wearables, and almost never published, which is itself informative.
11. Certifications
What it means: compliance marks, not effectiveness claims. Worth understanding what each covers.
| Mark | What it covers | What it does not |
|---|---|---|
| FCC | Electromagnetic interference, for sale in the US | Anything about light output or effectiveness |
| CE / UKCA | Declared conformity with European or UK product requirements | Independent testing in every case; often self-declared |
| RoHS | Restriction of certain hazardous substances | Performance of any kind |
| IEC 62471 | Photobiological safety assessment of lamps, including eye hazard | Whether the device does anything useful |
| IPX rating | Water ingress resistance — our scalp comb is IPX7 | Anything else |
| 510(k) clearance | A specific device reviewed for a specific stated use | Other products from the same brand, or claims beyond the cleared use |
Weight: Moderate. A device with no compliance marks at all is a genuine concern; a device with many is not thereby better at anything.
12. Warranty and returns
What it means: the only contractually binding thing on the page.
Good: a stated period covering the whole device, a clear return window, and stated terms on who pays return shipping. Ours is two years' warranty and a 30-day return window with the customer covering return shipping.
Distrust: "risk free" and "lifetime guarantee" badges with different terms in the policy page underneath.
Weight: High, and increasingly so the less verifiable the rest of the table is.
A worked example
Reading our own 105-LED belt spec table with the framework above:
| Row | Stated | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
| Wavelengths | 660 nm red, 850 nm near-infrared | Strong — figures, both bands named |
| Emitters | 105 LEDs, 315 chips; 105 red, 210 near-infrared | Strong — unit clarified and split given |
| Emitting area | Not specified | Weak — a real gap |
| Irradiance | Not published | Weak — and near-universal in this market |
| Timing modes | 3 | Adequate — durations would be better |
| Light modes | 5 | Adequate |
| Massage levels | 3 (M1, M2, M3) | Adequate |
| Charging | USB-C | Strong |
| Weight | Not specified | Weak |
| Warranty | 2 years | Strong |
Four strong rows, three adequate, three weak. That is an honest score for our best-documented device, and it is roughly what a well-documented consumer product in this category looks like in 2026. If a competitor's table looks flawless, the first question is whether every figure is sourced or some are estimated.
Why blanks are a good sign
This is counter-intuitive and worth sitting with.
Real supply-chain documentation is patchy. A manufacturer knows what it specified and tested; it often does not know things it never measured. A table where every row is confidently filled — wavelengths, irradiance, penetration depth, weight, coverage area, output per band — is either from a company that measured all of it, which is rare and expensive, or from one that filled the gaps with plausible numbers.
Uneven confidence is what honest documentation looks like. Distrust uniformity.
Questions to send a seller
Copy this into an email. A seller who answers all nine precisely is worth buying from.
- What wavelengths does this emit, in nanometres, and in what ratio?
- Is the emitter figure counting LED packages or chips?
- What are the dimensions of the emitting panel, as distinct from the product?
- What is the irradiance, at what distance, and who measured it?
- What are the exact timer durations, and does it shut off automatically?
- What does the device weigh?
- What is the charging connector, and can it run while charging?
- Which compliance marks does it hold, and can you supply the certificates?
- What does the warranty cover, for how long, and who pays return shipping?
Frequently asked questions
What is the most important specification?
Irradiance at a stated distance, in principle — it is the only figure that connects a device to a studied protocol. In practice it is so rarely reported credibly that wavelengths and emitting area become the most useful rows you can actually rely on.
Is a higher LED count better?
Not on its own. Without emitting area, output per emitter and the package-versus-chip distinction, it is a large number with no meaning. Our 105-LED belt carries 315 chips; a "120 LED" device may carry 120.
Do certifications mean a device works?
No. FCC, CE, RoHS and IPX ratings are compliance and safety marks. IEC 62471 concerns photobiological safety. None of them assesses whether a device does anything useful, and marketing that implies otherwise is misreading them.
Should I avoid devices that do not publish wavelengths?
It is a reasonable rule, and it would exclude several of our own products — our masks do not publish them. If it is decisive for you, apply it consistently and buy from whoever meets it.
What if a seller will not answer my questions?
That is your answer. A manufacturer that knows its own product can describe it; one that cannot is either a rebadger with no access to the specifications or is choosing not to tell you.
Why does penetration depth appear on some spec sheets?
Because it sounds impressive and is almost never a measurement. Light attenuates gradually rather than stopping at a boundary, and published depth figures are estimates against varying thresholds. A crisp number attached to a consumer product is an illustration, not data. Treat it as marketing.
How much do warranties actually matter?
In a category where most performance claims are unverifiable, the warranty is one of the few things that is contractually real. Read what it covers, not just how long it lasts — batteries, straps and hinges fail long before LEDs.
What is the fastest way to assess a product page?
Scroll past the imagery to the specification table and read it first. Count how many of the twelve rows above are present and how many are specific. That takes about ninety seconds and tells you more about a product, and about the company selling it, than the rest of the page combined.
Related reading
- How to choose the right red light device for your needs — the four-question routing exercise.
- Red light device buying mistakes to avoid — the twelve most expensive errors.
- How does red light work? — why irradiance, distance and dose matter.
Sources
- Springer, GeroScience (2025). Light buckets and laser beams: mechanisms and applications of photobiomodulation therapy — dose units and wavelength ranges.
- Huang, Sharma, Carroll and Hamblin. Biphasic Dose Response in Low Level Light Therapy – an Update, Dose-Response.
- Nemko. Photobiological safety of lamps and lamp systems (IEC 62471).
- Covington & Burling (January 2026). FDA Issues Revised Guidance on General Wellness Products.
Apply it to ours
Every page in the full device collection carries the same table format with the same blanks. Score them against whatever else is on your shortlist — the framework above is more valuable to you than any conclusion we would draw with it.
Important information
Vyalight devices are general wellness products intended to support comfort, relaxation, and everyday self-care routines. They are not medical devices and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease or condition. Individual experiences vary. If you have a medical condition, are pregnant, or take photosensitising medication, speak with a qualified healthcare professional before use.
About this article
Written by The Vyalight Editorial Team, written and fact-checked in-house, and published on 4 September 2026. It is reviewed at least once every twelve months and updated when the sources it rests on change. Vyalight publishes a written claims policy setting out what we will and will not say about light devices, and a brand facts page covering who we are, what we make and what we do not claim.
If you find something inaccurate, write to contact@vyalight.com and we will correct it, including in older articles.